Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Siena Heights All-Decade Series: Men's Soccer

Siena Heights All-Decade Series: Men's Soccer

ADRIAN, MICH. – The Siena Heights Athletics Department will be announcing an all-decade team for every SHU athletic team to finish out the year 2020. Each all-decade squad will feature a starting lineup consisting of the best athletes at each position from the past 10 seasons.

This edition features the Siena Heights men's soccer all-decade team. The team consists of Leo Hisamatsu, Doug Dawson, Matthew Robinet, Alex Santos, Justin Gray, John Faraj, Lindon Ivezic, Luis Miguel Anaya, Joe Deneweth, John Pascarella, and Rahbar Khan.

The starting 11 for the all-decade team consists of 12 All-WHAC selections including two first-team awards, two CoSIDA Academic All-District nods, 13 WHAC All-Academic honors, and eight NAIA Scholar-Athlete distinctions.

Leo Hisamatsu – Hisamatsu is tied 2nd for career wins with 17, while holding sole possession of 2nd for most saves (300) and most minutes in goal (4,924). He was twice both a WHAC All-Academic selection and NAIA Scholar-Athlete. His senior season he was chosen as the WHAC Champions of Character representative for Siena.

Doug Dawson – Dawson was named to the first-team All-WHAC in 2010 and second-team All-WHAC in 2011. Those two seasons also saw him earn both WHAC All-Academic and NAIA Scholar-Athlete honors.

Matthew Robinet – Robinet has the seventh-most games started for SHU with 64. During his time at Siena, he earned WHAC All-Academic in 2012 and 2013. The 2013 season also saw him made his debut on the All-WHAC honorable mention squad.

Alex Santos – Santos was a 2015 College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Academic All-District honoree. That same season, he also received WHAC All-Academic and NAIA Scholar-Athlete awards. In 2016, he was a WHAC Champion of Character along with the WHAC and NAIA academic selections.

Justin Gray – Gray earned second-team All-WHAC during the 2018 season. He led the Saints defensive unit during his time at Siena Heights.

John Faraj – Faraj was an honorable mention All-WHAC selection in 2008 and 2009. In 2010, he collected a third-team All-WHAC, WHAC champions of character honor, and his first two all-academic honors (2011 was the second).

Lindon Ivezic – Ivezic was an All-WHAC selection in both 2009 (1st team) and 2010 (2nd team).

Luis Miguel Anaya – Anaya joined teammate Alex Santos on the 2015 CoSIDA Academic All-District team. In 2016, he added both the WHAC All-Academic award and the NAIA Scholar-Athlete honor.

Joe Deneweth – Deneweth tied for fifth in game-winning goals with four and he ranks eighth in games started in a career with 63. In 2010, he was an All-WHAC second-team choice and an honorable mention in 2011.

John Pascarella – Pascarella earned a third-team All-WHAC selection in 2010 and was also the second-leading scorer on the team that year with 17 points (7g, 3a).

Rahbar Khan – Khan earned a second-team All-WHAC nod in 2017. That same season, he was the WHAC men's soccer offensive player of the week twice and earned both WHAC All-Academic (also earned in 2016) and NAIA Scholar-Athlete.

SHU All-Decade Reserves – The Saints men's soccer program had a decorated group of goalkeepers in the past 10 seasons, so the only two reserves for the all-decade men's soccer club are both goalies, Brandon Gonzalez and Lucas Sagaert.

    Follow the Saints: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube